Alan Grostephan - The Banana Wars

Alan Grostephan - The Banana Wars

Saturday, May 18, 2024 3:00 PM

Location:
A Cappella Books
208 Haralson Avenue, NE
Atlanta, Georgia 30307

"I dare you to enjoy a banana split after you've read Alan Grostephan's gut-wrenching novel "The Banana Wars." Vividly written, unforgettably peopled, ranging across a landscape at once horrific and sublime, "The Banana Wars" will wring you out, leaving you at once exhausted and enriched, the way every good book exacts something from you even as it feeds your soul." -Angel Khoury, bestselling author of "Between Tides"

A Cappella Books is delighted to welcome author Alan Grostephan to discuss his fascinating book, "The Banana Wars." A Q&A and book signing will follow the talk.

This event is free and open to the public, and copies of "The Banana Wars" will be available for purchase.

About the Book

Urabá, Colombia, 1990: A violent strike at plantations across the banana zone leads to crops in flames, managers murdered, and the local economy teetering on the brink. In retaliation, the banana producers finance right-wing paramilitaries to cleanse the zone of guerrillas and their supposed collaborators.

Through the intertwined lives of four characters—a banana worker making a play for power in the guerrillas, a decadent Colombian banana planter who runs his business from the safety of Medellín, a widow in Urabá struggling to stay on the right side of the local paramilitaries, and an American banana executive wading ever deeper into troubled waters—The Banana Wars charts the struggle to survive in impossible conditions, in a place where no one is to be trusted and one false move can lead to death.

Starkly drawn from the true history of Urabá and this period of conflict, including the unseen role of US corporate interests, celebrated author Alan Grostephan's latest is an incandescent historical novel for fans of Jesmyn Ward, Roberto Bolaño, and Fernanda Melchor.

About the Author

Alan Grostephan is the author of "Bogotá," a novel chosen by the Wall Street Journal as one of the best ten books of fiction in 2013 and longlisted for the Pen/Robert W. Bingham Prize. He is also the editor and translator of "Stories of Life and Death," a collection of writing by emerging Colombian writers. He lives in Georgia.