Zoe Fishman - Invisible as Air

Zoe Fishman - Invisible as Air

Tuesday, Sep 24, 2019 7:00 PM

Location:
Wrecking Bar Brewpub
292 Moreland Avenue NE, Atlanta, GA 30307

At the second of two September editions of Writers at the Wrecking Bar, Atlanta bestselling author of "Inheriting Edith," Zoe Fishman will discuss her new novel, "Invisible as Air," a provocative and timely new novel that will haunt you long after the final page is turned. Fishman will appear in conversation with Alison Law, host of the Literary Atlanta podcast.

This event is free and open to the public. If you are unable to attend, you may order a signed copy of the book below.

About the Book

For readers of Jodi Picoult and Jamie Attenberg, this provocative and powerful novel from the bestselling author of "Inheriting Edith" explores the meaning of family, the invisibility of addiction, and the unpredictability and all-encompassing nature of grief.

Sylvie Snow is a hard-working career woman, wife and mother who lives in a beautiful house and drives a beautiful car. She moisturizes regularly and wears expensive clothes. She does the grocery shopping, the laundry, the scheduling, the schlepping and the PTA-ing. She’s planning a Bar Mitzvah for her movie-loving twelve year old son, Teddy, even though he’s wholly disinterested in it. She’s also newly addicted to the Oxycontin intended for her husband, Paul who has just broken his ankle.

For three years, Sylvie has repressed her grief about the heartbreaking stillbirth of her daughter, Delilah. On the morning of the anniversary of her death, when she just can’t face doing one...more...thing: she takes one—just one—of her husband’s discarded pain pills. And suddenly she feels patient, kinder, and miraculously relaxed. She tells herself that the pills are temporary, just a gift, and that when the supply runs out she’ll go back to her regularly scheduled programming.

But days turn into weeks, and Sylvie slips slowly into a nightmare. At first, Paul and Teddy are completely unaware, but this changes quickly as her desperate choices reveal her desperate state. As the Bar Mitzvah nears, all three of them must face the void within themselves, both alone and together.

About the Author

Zoe Fishman is the bestselling author of "Inheriting Edith," "Driving Lessons," "Saving Ruth" and "Balancing Acts." She’s the recipient of myriad awards, including a New York Post Pick. She’s been profiled in Publishers Weekly and the Huffington Post among others. Her writing has been published in the Atlanta Journal Constitution as part of their moving “Personal Journey” series. Zoe worked in the New York publishing industry for thirteen years. She was recently the Visiting Writer at SCAD Atlanta and currently teaches at Emory Continuing Education and The Decatur Writers Studio, at which she is also the Executive Director. She lives in Decatur with her family.

About Writers at the Wrecking Bar

A Cappella Books presents Writers at the Wrecking Bar, a series of live author interview events showcasing some of the country’s freshest voices in literary and contemporary fiction, presented at our neighborhood brewpub. Each program includes writers in conversation with an arbiter of Atlanta’s book scene, giving the audience a chance to experience and participate in the Q&A, and get a signed copy of the book. Select events will feature performances by notable local musicians.

Held upstairs in the Marianna Room of the Wrecking Bar Brewpub, Writers at the Wrecking Bar hosts a cash bar with signature cocktails inspired by the books, starting at 7 p.m. The author conversation and book signing follow at 7:30 p.m.