Zoe Fishman - Invisible as Air and Emily Liebert - Pretty Revenge

Zoe Fishman - Invisible as Air and Emily Liebert - Pretty Revenge

Tuesday, Nov 05, 2019 12:00 PM

Location:
Marcus Jewish Community Center of Atlanta (MJCCA)
5342 Tilly Mill Road, Dunwoody, GA 30338

Bestselling authors Zoe Fishman and Emily Liebert will be in conversation with author Lisa Shore at this 28th Edition of the Book Festival of the MJCCA event.

About Zoe Fishman and "Invisible as Air"

Zoe Fishman is the bestselling author of "Inheriting Edith," "Driving Lessons," "Saving Ruth" and "Balancing Acts." She’s the recipient of myriad awards, including a New York Post Pick. She’s been profiled in Publishers Weekly and the Huffington Post among others. Her writing has been published in the Atlanta Journal Constitution as part of their moving “Personal Journey” series. Zoe worked in the New York publishing industry for thirteen years. She was recently the Visiting Writer at SCAD Atlanta and currently teaches at Emory Continuing Education and The Decatur Writers Studio, at which she is also the Executive Director. She lives in Decatur with her family.

For readers of Jodi Picoult and Jamie Attenberg, this provocative and powerful novel from the bestselling author of "Inheriting Edith" explores the meaning of family, the invisibility of addiction, and the unpredictability and all-encompassing nature of grief.

Sylvie Snow is a hard-working career woman, wife and mother who lives in a beautiful house and drives a beautiful car. She moisturizes regularly and wears expensive clothes. She does the grocery shopping, the laundry, the scheduling, the schlepping and the PTA-ing. She’s planning a Bar Mitzvah for her movie-loving twelve year old son, Teddy, even though he’s wholly disinterested in it. She’s also newly addicted to the Oxycontin intended for her husband, Paul who has just broken his ankle.

For three years, Sylvie has repressed her grief about the heartbreaking stillbirth of her daughter, Delilah. On the morning of the anniversary of her death, when she just can’t face doing one...more...thing: she takes one—just one—of her husband’s discarded pain pills. And suddenly she feels patient, kinder, and miraculously relaxed. She tells herself that the pills are temporary, just a gift, and that when the supply runs out she’ll go back to her regularly scheduled programming.

But days turn into weeks, and Sylvie slips slowly into a nightmare. At first, Paul and Teddy are completely unaware, but this changes quickly as her desperate choices reveal her desperate state. As the Bar Mitzvah nears, all three of them must face the void within themselves, both alone and together.

About Emily Liebert and "Pretty Revenge"

Emily Liebert is the author of six books and has been featured on the "Today Show" and in publications such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, Ladies’ Home Journal, People, The Washington Post, and many more. Emily lives with her husband and their two sons in Connecticut.

The name of the game is revenge—no matter the cost—in this emotionally charged thriller reminiscent of "The Wife Between Us" and "The Perfect Nanny."

Kerrie O’Malley, jobless and in an unfulfilling relationship, can isolate the singular moment in her life when things veered off course—the night she was irrevocably wronged by someone she looked up to. Eighteen years later, when Kerrie sees the very woman who destroyed her life on television, a fire ignites inside her. The stakes are high. The risks are perilous. But she’ll stop at nothing to achieve the retribution she deserves.

Jordana Pierson is a gilded New Yorker who appears to have it all: wealth, glamour, a successful and handsome husband, and a thriving wedding concierge business. Her record is spotless. Her business is flourishing. No one knows the truth about her and the dark shadows of her past.

No one, that is, except Kerrie.

Exploring just how far someone will go for vengeance, "Pretty Revenge" is a riveting, compulsively readable novel bursting with twists and turns and plenty of suspense.