Lynn Garson - Sex and the Single Grandma and Robyn Spizman - Loving Out Loud

Lynn Garson - Sex and the Single Grandma and Robyn Spizman - Loving Out Loud

Thursday, Nov 07, 2019 10:00 AM

Location:
Marcus Jewish Community Center of Atlanta (MJCCA)
5342 Tilly Mill Road, Dunwoody, GA 30338

Lynn Garson and Robyn Spizman will be in conversation with MJCCA Rabbi Brian Glusman at this 28th Edition of the Book Festival of the MJCCA event.

About Lynn Garson and "Sex and the Single Grandma"

Lynn Garson is an author, practicing healthcare attorney with a prominent national law firm, and mental health advocate. In July 2012, she published Southern Vapors, a memoir describing her journey from major clinical depression to recovery, and has since spoken widely about her experiences. Lynn graduated from Tulane University with a degree in art history and holds her law degree from Emory University School of Law (class of 1981). She has lived in Atlanta, New York, Paris, Hong Kong and Virginia, and still travels widely.

"Sex and the City" meets "Grace and Frankie" in this hilarious memoir about a Southern belle’s search for love over 50.

When Lynn Garson’s marriage ended in divorce, she refused to give up on her belief in Love, Romance, and Happily Ever After. Her quest to find Mr. Right led her from blind dates to dating apps, from drinks at the Atlanta Ritz Carlton to silverfish in a boyfriend’s guest bed (she has the video evidence to prove it).

Lynn recounts her experiences in the modern dating scene with honesty and humor. Through the ups and downs of her dating adventures, Lynn never loses her manners (“my unreasoning adherence to etiquette only equals my dislike of confrontation”), her wit (“at this stage of life, it takes either a ninety-minute hot yoga class or a life-threatening emergency to make me sweat”), or her optimism (“What if someone wonderful was out there, my very own Sir Lancelot? In the best of all possible worlds, this knight in shining armor would be raven haired, broad in the chest, and own—not rent—his horse.”).

About Robyn Spizman and "Loving Out Loud"

Robyn Spizman is an award-winning, New York Times bestselling author, speaker, and veteran media personality who has appeared often on NBC’s Today Show. She lives in Atlanta.

In the tradition of "Random Acts of Kindness" and "Pay It Forward," "Loving Out Loud" is a little book with a big message: you have the power to make a positive impact on someone’s day, every day, and it isn’t nearly as hard as you think. Robyn Spizman has spent her career finding ways to make others happy with gifts and actions. Observing how the smallest compliment or remark of appreciation can transform an awkward moment into one of connection and joy, she set out to find words and acts designed to let someone else know we are paying attention, we care, and we appreciate them. With LOL Snapshots and LOL daily suggestions in numerous categories, "Loving Out Loud" is poised to inspire a movement toward a kinder, more engaged community.